NARRATION: Horror Stories: Bizarre Reports of the World’s Craziest True Ghost Stories and Hauntings

Horror Stories: Bizarre Reports of the World's Craziest True Ghost Stories and HauntingsMy first official audiobook narration for Audiobook Creation Exchange (ACX) has hit the Amazon store and I’m excited to see how it goes. The book is called Horror Stories: Bizarre Reports of the World’s Craziest True Ghost Stories and Hauntings.

I don’t want to comment on the content of the book itself. As the narrator I have no control over the content other than the ability to refuse the option to produce it. But as far as the narration and production go, I’m pretty proud of this first effort and I can honestly say I learned some new things while working on it, which is not something you say often when you’ve been dabbling in audio projects of various kinds for over a decade. Or two.

Regardless, the thing about these kinds of projects (and most things in our world) is that ambition trumps quality. It doesn’t matter if you have the best product in the world, if you’re not motivated to promote it, it’ll never sell. In this case, I get the distinct impression that the author is motivated, and that he’s in a niche that is notoriously hungry for input. So, I’m hoping that we can get some sales out if it. The long-term idea is to get enough active audiobooks that even scattered sales from a lot of sources can add up to some kind of income. We’ll see how it goes. I’ve talked with other ACX Narrator/Producers that have enough irons in the fire to make a steady, livable income from the earnings. I’m not sure I’ll ever get to that stage, but having some play money to put into the kids’ college funds and such would be nice. Cross your fingers!

No comments yet

Leave a comment