RELEASED: My narration of Concussion on Escape Pod

Football: Jets-v-Eagles, Sep 2009 - 10

Let’s be honest, if Vick was the only one that knew the danger ahead, we’d all be doomed. [Football: Jets-v-Eagles, Sep 2009 – 10 (Photo credit: Ed Yourdon)]

Concussion by David Glen Larson is a tale of a quarterback that hallucinates when he gets concussed on the field. Or maybe he doesn’t.

It’s a cool story, well worth the 20 minutes it takes to listen. I did a little more production with the audio on this one to make it easier to understand scene changes and I’d be interested to hear your thoughts. Was it too much? Did it distract from the story? Did it help?

If you’re at all inclined toward sci-fi or stories or whatever, Escape Pod is one to check out. And this story, my narration notwithstanding, is a good representation of the quality of this show.

http://escapepod.org/2013/01/17/ep379-concussion/

7 comments so far

  1. David Glen Larson on

    I listened to the story as I drove up the coast, and I thought you did a great job with the narration. Oh, and the sound design–loved it!

    • matweller on

      It’s safe to say you were the one I wanted most to make happy. Thank you very much for the compliment!

  2. Jon Landers on

    ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC!!! As I listen to many of the Escape Pod-casts…I wonder why so few have any form of sound effects or sound modifications. The additional sounds were a perfect way to slip between the different scenes! Outstanding work! Your read really helped draw me into the story, but the SFX were key to submerging me into the world of this story!

    • matweller on

      As far as I know, all of the Escape Artist shows have always had a mandate to leave the readings as raw as possible, but there had been reports with several stories that scene and time shifts were hard to follow in an audio-only atmosphere. I’ve been trying to keep them to a minimum, but in a place like this where the scenes are constantly going back and forth, it’s really helpful to hear the switches.

      I’m glad it worked for you! You’ll hear it more in stories that need it from here on out. And thanks for taking the time to come here and comment.

  3. […] Moving into 2013, the photo was published in a Jan 18, 2013 blog titled "RELEASED: My narration of Concussion on Escape Pod." […]

  4. […] Moving into 2013, the photo was published in a Jan 18, 2013 blog titled "RELEASED: My narration of Concussion on Escape Pod." […]

  5. […] Moving into 2013, the photo was published in a Jan 18, 2013 blog titled "RELEASED: My narration of Concussion on Escape Pod." […]


Leave a Reply

