Five Ks are more than it seems

I finished. I never stopped jogging. Next year I plan to add “don’t collapse like a weenie when it’s over” to my goal list.

I’ve been doing a running program with folks from my church for the past 12 weeks that culminated in us attending the Gring’s Mill 5K this past Sunday.

I’m proud to say I finished without walking. I’m proud to say I did it in under 45 minutes (40:40). And, maybe a bit sadly, I’m proud to say that’s the farthest I’ve ever jogged without stopping — even in training for it, we didn’t cover that much ground without there being warm-up & cool-down walking involved.

Now, I plan to keep training, do the same race again next year, and bury that time by at least five minutes.

3 comments so far

  1. ruralrouterunner on

    Congrats on finishing your first 5K without walking!

    • matweller on

      Thanks! It was a modest goal, but not a bad one for a 275 lb. guy who’s only been training for 3 months. 😉


Leave a Reply

