Zombies in MD!

Zombie Walk 2010

Image by rodolpho.reis via Flickr

Attention fans of zombies and beer near Maryland or willing to travel:

This is the coolest thing I have seen in a while!
http://runforyourlives.com/#/the-race

Let’s go over this together…

  • I have been thinking about training for a 5K for a while
  • I’m a fan of activities in the woods
  • I love zombie fiction
  • It ends with beer
Who’s with me? I’m completely serious about this. I walked the 26 miles for Relay for Life; I’m going to do this. I’d like to have a partner, but I’ll run it alone of nobody’s down. Keep in mind, there is some serious training involved to do this well because 5K through the woods while dodging enemies involves a lot more than 5K on the road.
I’ll even offer a $20 side bet — everybody who’s interested can throw $20 into a pot. The money gets split between whoever comes out with a flag on the other side.
2 comments so far

  1. Mat Weller on

    I’m beginning to realize that if I really intend to “survive” this, my current quick running pace is going to have to be my jogging pace on this course. I have a lot of training to do.

    Is there really nobody that will take up this challenge with me?

  2. matweller on

    I can’t do it. My foot is injured and not healing. My hip and knee hurt every time I run. Any one of these, and I would still run, but the combination is making it impossible for me to properly train for this. My hope is that I will be able to lose a pile of weight in the coming months, build some more muscle, and with that hopefully be able to train at least to be a zombie next year.

    I’m not coming to this conclusion willingly, but I can no longer fool myself about it.


Leave a Reply

