Gonna Walk A Marathon

Image borrowed from http://tinyurl.com/csfs63

So the boss has decided that he’s going to walk 26 miles throughout the time of our Relay for Life event [May 20 @ 6:00 PM – May 21 @noon]. I have resisted committing up until now because I don’t like making promises that I’m not sure I can keep. But–

I’m going to do it.

I’m going to promise you that I will be walking a full 26 miles. That’s 104 laps of the track for those keeping score. It may take me most of the night. My average pace is about 3.5 miles per hour (short legs), so if I could maintain that it would take me seven and a half hours. After which, I need to take my daughter to swim class in the morning. I don’t think I’ll be sleeping after I finish, I’d worry I’d wake up unable to move my legs.

So anyway, if you were waiting for me to make some outrageous claim before donating, here it is. If you’re inclined to wait until there is proof that I am actually training for this — you really should, I hope to start tomorrow morning — then I can totally respect that, but will also expect your donation to show up soon. If I’m going to go the full Ray Garretty on this, it would cushion the healing if you could contribute to this great cause too!

See my updates here and at http://tinyurl.com/matweller2011
If you’re in the area and have all or part of May 20-21 free, we would love to have you join us! Just let me know.

2 comments so far

  1. […] Gonna Walk A Marathon (matweller.wordpress.com) « Help me do better than this LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  2. […] Gonna Walk A Marathon (matweller.wordpress.com) « WRITING: Gangsta Geriatric LikeBe the first to like this post. […]


Leave a Reply

